2015-A Year of New Beginnings

New Beginnings

As 2015 is now over, it’s that time of year to be looking back on all the Lord has done, remember His faithfulness, & look to what He has for us this year in 2016! I’d like to share a few key happenings with you! 2015 has been a year of new beginnings for James & I! If you didn’t already know, it’s been a dream of mine to be on staff at the House of Prayer in Atlanta since I was young, and this year, the Lord made this dream a reality! My job as an intercessory missionary means that I raise my own support to work as a full-time missionary– reaching out to others from a lifestyle of prayer and worship. All ministry then, flows from a place of IMG_5068prayer & closeness with God. At IHOP ATL, in 2006, a prayer meeting began which continues to this day; from dawn to dusk and through the night, worship and prayer have continued twenty-four hours a day, seven days a week. The prayer room is the foundation of all ministry and outreach. This June, after raising support to be on staff & getting married, my husband & I moved to Georgia, where we’ll be until the Lord says otherwise! I know I’m called to pray for & disciple a younger generation that they would love Jesus wholeheartedly for the rest of their lives!!

Since last year, I’ve had amazing opportunities to see young adults and children be transformed by the knowledge of God, from my local community in Georgia, all the way to Mexico.  Through local outreaches and a mission trip to Mexico this fall, I’ve personally IMG_9527been a part of over 50 people giving their lives to the Lord! I also get to serve at Forerunner Church—our college age ministry—where hundreds of young adults have encountered the Lord. I love being a part of a team that disciples young adults and develops student leaders, reaching over 100 students each week! Young hearts have opened up to the truth of the Gospel & will never be the same! Because my vision is to see the young people be transformed by the knowledge of God, laboring in ministry with the Lord in these ways has impacted me and many others! I feel really honored to be a part of building the House of Prayer, as I get to watch people’s lives change every week (and am changed in the process).I’m grateful to see Him change lives firsthand!

Personally, I’ve been learning a ton about balancing everything on my plate in this season: ministry, moving to Georgia, home life, & being newly married. I serve in leadership in a few areas at IHOP, and I love them all, but it has been a stretching time for me with all the new beginnings. Though it’s been hard to be away from loved ones in Colorado, James & I fee like moving to Georgia has been a God-ordained time where we’ve been positioned to IMG_7528encounter His heart & be prepared for the future. The Lord’s leadership is perfect!

Because of God’s faithfulness, I’m excited about the upcoming year of life & ministry! There are a few aspects about 2016 that I’m sure of: while on staff, I’ll continue to love on & disciple young people, serve in night and day prayer & share the Gospel with the lost, so that many would love Jesus wholeheartedly for the rest of their lives. Beyond that, it’s a mystery to me & I can’t wait to see what the Lord will do in and through us!

 

 

What about you?

What are you expecting from the Lord in 2016!?

What is He speaking to you in this season? Keeping our hearts positioned in expectation helps us receive all the Lord has for us! He’s so good!

 

Beka

 

 

Leave a Reply

